OPEN GIVEAWAYS

None at this time. Check back soon!

Thursday, February 8, 2018

#Audiobook #Review: 4 out of 5 stars for Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown @janelleb @PRHAudio

AUTHOR: Janelle Brown
NARRATORS: Kaleo Griffith and Tavia Gilbert
PUBLISHER: Books on Tape/Random House Audio
PUBLICATION DATE: July 11, 2017
FORMAT: Unabridged audiobook
LENGTH: 13 hrs and 15 mins
GENRE: Mystery
A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for fans of Emma Straub and Maria Semple - from the best-selling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything.

MY REVIEW:

I received a complimentary copy of this audiobook for voluntary review consideration.

This was a really good mystery that kept me guessing and fooled me once or twice!

The story is about the Flanagan family: Billie and Jonathan and their teenage daughter, Olive. The book's Prologue is told from Billie's point of view, before her death. She talks about how Olive's personality differs from her own. Where Billie is more of a risk-taker and daredevil, Olive is less adventurous and more timid.

As we move into Chapter 1, Olive talks about seeing her mother's ghost. Almost a year has passed since Billie's death, who went into the mountains on a solo hike and never came back out. One of her hiking boots was found, but her body was never recovered. She is assumed to be dead, but Olive doesn't think so. She has visions about her mother, and she feels that her mother is leading her to find her. Meanwhile, Jonathan is doing some digging of his own and he what he uncovers leads him to believe that Billie may not be dead or missing at all...but that her disappearance was intentional.

This is my first book by this author, but it won't be my last! I really enjoyed this one, and Brown unravelled the story bit by bit, from Billie's reckless past and leading up to the anniversary of her disappearance.

This book was dually narrated by Tavia Gilbert and Kaleo Griffith, and I enjoyed them both. Their pace was excellent, and they kept me engaged. Here is a sample of the narration:



MY RATING:

4 stars!! It was really good, and you should put it on your TBR list if you enjoy mysteries. Thanks again to Random House Audio for the opportunity to review this book!

This book qualifies as:

1 comment:

  1. That fact that it fooled you not once but twice has me curious Darlene. Wonderful review.

    ReplyDelete

Copyright 2012 Darlene's Book Blog Design by Parajunkee Design